4. listopad 2020 1217 kor

Forms of authentication

Forms of Authentication

All documents submitted by the applicant to the faculty must be duly authenticated in accordance with the relevant international agreements (a list valid as of 1 May 2018):

a. States which have entered into a legal aid agreement with the Czech Republic

original documents are valid in the contracting states without any further authentication. If the applicant submits copies of such documents they must be authenticated copies made by a Czech or foreign notary, at a Czech embassy abroad or made by means of Czech Point service.

List of states which have entered into a legal aid agreement with the Czech Republic: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Austria, Belgium, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Montenegro, France, Georgia, Yemen, Croatia, People’s Republic of Korea, Cuba, Cyprus, Kyrgyzstan, Hungary, Macedonia/FYROM, Moldova, Mongolia, Poland, Romania, the Russian Federation, Greece, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Syria, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam.

b. States which are signatories of a multilateral convention to simplify the authentication of foreign official documents

Convention of 5 October 1961 Abolishing the Requirement of Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents (The Hague, 5 October 1961, published under no. 45/1999 Sb.m.s. (the Collection of International Agreements)), “The Hague Convention”.


For these states a uniform authentication of documents is stipulated, the so-called Apostille, issued by a competent authority of the state in which the diploma was issued (the so-called Apostille authorities). The list of Apostille authorities is available from the website of the Hague Conference at http://hcch.e-vision.nl (Authorities, per Convention, Convention No. 12, direct link: http://hcch.e-vision.nl/index_en.php?act=conventions.authorities&cid=41).

Documents from the following states must be authenticated in the form of Apostille: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, the Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burundi, Cook Islands, Chile, China – only Hong Kong and Macao (legalisation is required in the case of other territories of China), Denmark, Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe (from 15 July 2008), Dominica, Dominican Republic (authentication by Apostille clause from 30 August 2009), Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, French territories (i.e., French Polynesia, the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Komodo Islands, Martinique, New Caledonia, Réunion, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna), Grenada  (from 7 April 2002 – up to this date it was covered under Great Britain), Guatemala, Honduras, India, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Israel, Japan, Republic of South Africa, Kazakhstan, Colombia, Republic of Korea (South Korea), Kosovo, Costa Rica, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta, Morocco, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Namibia, Germany, Niue, the Netherlands and its territories (i.e., the Netherlands Antilles, Aruba), Norway, New Zealand, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Salvador, Samoa, San Marino, the Seychelles, Suriname, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Sweden, Tajikistan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uruguay, the United States of America and its territories (i.e., American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands of the United States), Great Britain and its territories (i.e., Jersey, the Bailiwick of Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Anguilla, Bermudas, British Antarctic Territory, British Virgins Islands, British Solomon Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Saint Helena, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands), Vanuatu, and Venezuela.

In the case of documents from the member states of the European Union, Norway, the United States of America, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand it is possible to replace the Apostille (in the case of Canada with superlegalisation) with an authenticated copy of the documents (similarly to option (a)), providing that at the same time as the following condition is met:

  • The foreign      higher education institution sends the faculty a transcript or diploma      supplement of the applicant in a sealed envelope, or the applicant submits      a transcript in a sealed envelope as part of the documents (it is      necessary to meet the deadline for submitting of High school document set      by the Faculty).

c.  Other states

– documents on the completion of study must be superlegalised. In the case of superlegalisation, the authenticity of signatures and stamps on the original documents is verified by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the state where the secondary school or higher education institution which issued the document has a registered address, or by the relevant foreign body; and also by the relevant embassy of the Czech Republic.

The requirements for the submission of duly authenticated documents are also considered fulfilled if the applicant submits authenticated copies of documents that were previously authenticated by the method listed above that applies to the documents submitted by him (e.g., in the case of a diploma from Kenya, the applicant submits an authenticated copy of the superlegalised documents).

Rychlé odkazy

Konání státních zkoušek
2022/23 Konání státních zkoušek – magisterský program / State Examination - Master´s Study Programm

Termíny řádných termínů jsou zveřejňovány v SISu dle rozvrhu příslušné studijní skupiny. [...]

20. červenec 2022

Výběrová řízení
VŘ Asistent/Asistentka - Odborný asistent/Odborná asistentka Urologické kliniky LFP UK

Děkan Lékařské fakulty v Plzni, Univerzity Karlovy vypisuje výběrové řízení na obsazení [...]

20. červenec 2022 2

Důležité odkazy


Oficiální stránky Univerzity Karlovy


Informační systém UK


Studijní informační systém